PDA

View Full Version : Timing belt & DOHC???


SteveO
27th May 2010, 08:02 AM
I was following my book, I had my TDC. . but I feel like a skipd a step with the marks. But I finishd what I was after( the camseals)now Im putting it back. Im at, the crank mark is good. the R side wont spin all the way freely but lines up good, same with the L but just not enough. the tensioner did come down abit abruptly. as for tensioner compression I ready to just buy one. if it was under load could it have fallin on the wrong side of the cam lobe, and how bad could it be ..lol. can I turn em or reset some how?? The dohc is new to me. Any Info b great.

nipper
3rd June 2010, 01:47 AM
http://www.endwrench.com/pages/home.html look up under engine.


nipper

benwarn
4th June 2010, 04:58 AM
http://www.endwrench.com/pages/home.html look up under engine.


nipper


u could spin the crank with a 22mm socket and see if it spins freely

ashpool25
22nd July 2010, 10:26 AM
I was following my book, I had my TDC. .

EJ series engines are NOT timed at TDC - I lost a weekend discovering this the hard way.

When you line up the marks according to the manual, the crank is not at TDC but 90 degrees after with the pistons halfway down the bores. Then you line up the marks on the cam sprockets and slip the belt on. A handful of clothes pegs can be helpful to keep the belt in place on the sprockets while you line everything up. It can also help to make marks on the belt (using whiteout or similar) the right number of teeth apart (the tooth count should be in the maual) to help with the alignment process.